Dr. Martina Melzer, published: 01/22/2022, updated: 01/20/2023

 

What is Fatigue?

Defining fatigue is not that easy. Fatigue comes from the Latin word fatigatio, which means fatigue or tiredness. A person who experiences fatigue usually speaks of a pronounced exhaustion, a state of weakness that does not improve with rest and sleep. Fatigue affects not only physically, but also mentally and emotionally. It clearly limits one in everyday life. It can prevent one from starting an activity and one feels exhausted by an activity very quickly.

Fatigue is a symptom that can have many causes. Doctors often speak of fatigue syndrome because this condition can be described by many individual symptoms. For example: extreme tiredness, problems concentrating and remembering things, slower reaction times, physical weakness, depressed mood, sleepiness.

Fatigue can be acute and chronic.

 

Tired or fatigued?

If a person talks about being exhausted, he or she often gets the answer "Oh yes, I'm tired all the time too". From my point of view, there is a fundamental difference between tiredness and exhaustion. One is tired after a bad night, after a long day at work or after sports. That is normal. Then you rest and feel fit again, you have strength, you can think clearly, you can go about your daily activities. Not so with a person who suffers from exhaustion. He or she feels permanently like "battery empty", every small everyday activity represents an extreme feat of strength, you feel totally drained, like a zombie. And the battery simply cannot be fully recharged, no matter how much rest and sleep one allows oneself.

 

What can trigger exhaustion?

Numerous diseases can cause this persistent state of exhaustion. Among them:

  • ME/CFS
  • Cancer
  • Anemia
  • Thyroid diseases
  • Liver diseases
  • Infections
  • Rheumatism
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Sleep apnea
  • Cardiovascular diseases
  • Chronic inflammatory bowel disease (IBD)
  • Irritable bowel syndrome
  • POTS (Postural Tachycardia Syndrome)
  • Parkinson's disease
  • Stroke
  • Burnout, Adrenal insufficiency
  • Celiac disease
  • Persistent sleep disorders
  • (complex) Posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Highly Sensitive Personality (HSP)
  • Long Covid


Medications can also lead to fatigue.

 

Fatigue: A protective mechanism?

Scientists have not yet found out exactly what happens in the body during exhaustion. But there is much evidence to suggest that the immune system plays a role. Everyone knows the exhaustion of having a cold or flu. The infection activates the immune system, which triggers inflammation to fight the pathogen. Inflammatory chemicals in the brain make us tired, "mushy", exhaust us, we are in a bad mood, we want to lie down and have our rest. This behavior, which makes sense to the body, is called "sickness behavior". It probably plays a role whenever there is inflammation in the body.

Second, the autonomic nervous system has an impact on fatigue, especially when it is out of balance. Again, the nervous system can ramp up a protective mechanism if it has been overstimulated for too long. It then forces the body into a so-called "shutdown".

 

What is ME/CFS?

ME/CFS means: Myalgic Encephalomyelitis and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. Some people use the term „chronic fatigue“. US-scientists have proposed to name the disease Systemic Exertion Intolerance Disease (SEID).

Because many patient organizations prefer the name ME/CFS, I use it too. According to the World Health Organisation (WHO) ME/CFS is a neurological disease, which means it affects the nervous system. It is not a psychological illness.

 

Possible Triggers

In many cases ME/CFS begins with an infection, for example with the Epstein-Barr-virus, the flu, corona- or enteroviruses. Certain bacteria and other pathogens can lead to the illness as well.

Sometimes an accident or a surgery led to the onset of the illness, one is exposed to toxins and in other cases there is no clear special event and ME/CFS starts more subtle.

Stress is an important trigger.

 

What could be the root cause?

 

It is still not clear what causes ME/CFS. But scientists find more and more abnormalities, which could play a role in the pathomechanism of the illness. This includes abnormalities in the immune system, the hormonal system, the cardiovascular system, the autonomic nervous system, the energy metabolism and the gut. Genetics increase the risk of getting ME/CFS.
 

Typical symptoms

These 3 main symptoms are required:

 

  • Not being able to participate in routine acitivities that were possible before becoming ill, this is accompanied by a profound fatigue, the condition lasts for more than 6 months
  • Post-exertional malaise (PEM)
  • Unrefreshening sleep


In addition you must have cognitive problems, such as impaired memory and „brainfog“ or orthostatic intolerance, which means you get certain symptoms when standing upright.

 

The long way to the diagnosis

Many affected people, including myself, have been through a doctor´s odyssey for years until they get the diagnosis ME/CFS. One reason is, that many physicians are not well informed about this illness. The current media attention on Long Covid will hopefully change that. Another reason is: The symptoms are not specific (except of the PEM) and can be evoked by many other illnesses too. This often means, that many other conditions have to be ruled out. Are other diseases excluded, fit the symptoms and the history of the patient, then an expert can make the diagnosis ME/CFS.

 

And then?

Then you finally got the diagnosis and – at the latest – start googling. Unless your physician has already told you, you learn quickly what Pacing is and why it is so important when having ME/CFS. Pacing means as much as: Know your energy envelope and stay within it, as best as you can. Even for mild affected people this can be terribly restrictive and can mean sitting most of the day, giving up your job, deciding whether to take a shower or clean the dishes at that day. More severely affected people are often bedbound and need care.

Besides Pacing a lot of people try to help themselves with countless supplements which shall improve the energy metabolism. Some have to take painkillers, sleeping pills or certain low-dose antidepressants (against pain).

Currently there is no scientifically based therapy.

 

Recovery is possible!

There is a highly conflicting debate about whether it is possible to fully recover from ME/CFS. There are few studies and reviews that have addressed the issue. One review shows: Within three years, 4.5 to 83 percent of children and adolescents with ME/CFS have recovered. Another analysis showed: on average, five percent of those with the disease recovered completely and 39.5 percent improved their condition. A long-term study of children and adolescents showed that 68 percent had recovered within 10 years.

One of the reasons that the results differ so widely is that the studies were not done uniformly and there were different criteria for when someone was considered recovered. In addition, there are no markers that can be used to say: Blood test back to normal, person healthy. Rather, it is a very personal definition and assessment.

 

Yet you find more and more people on the internet who have recoverd from ME/CFS and share their story.

Translated with the help of DeepL

PS: Of course, I research and check everything I write here as well as possible. Nevertheless, I am only human and make mistakes. In addition, I may draw completely different conclusions as someone else would. Simply because they fit my story. But every story is different.

 

Important: The content on this page is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for talking to your doctor or other therapist. The content reflects my personal experiences, research and findings that have helped me and that I therefore want to share. However, in your personal case, completely different things may play a role and other things may help. Please talk to your doctor or therapist before making any decisions that affect your physical or mental health. Also important: I don't want to convince anyone of anything here. Rather, I want to point out possible ways that hopefully can help some people to improve or overcome their ME/CFS or other syndromes.



Sources

Institute of Medicine (IOM): Beyond ME/CFS – A guide for clinicians, 2015

MRI Chronisches Fatigue Centrum München: https://www.muenchen-klinik.de/krankenhaus/schwabing/kinderkliniken/kinderheilkunde-jugendmedizin/spezialgebiete-kinder-klinik/chronische-fatigue/

US ME/CFS Clinician Coalition: Guideline for the Diagnosis and Treatment of ME/CFS, 2019

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Myalgic encephalomyelitis. https://www.cdc.gov/me-cfs/about/index.html

 

Moore Y et al: Recovering from Chronic Fatigue Syndrome: A systematic review. Arch Dis Child 2021

Cairns R, Hotopf M: A systemativ review describing the prognosis of CFS. Ocuup Med 2005

Rowe KS: Long term follow up of young people with CFS attending a pediatric outpatient service. Front Pediatr 2019

 

Deutsche Fatigue Gesellschaft: Was ist Fatigue? Online: https://deutsche-fatigue-gesellschaft.de/fatigue/was-ist-fatigue/

 

Health direct: Fatigue. Online: https://www.healthdirect.gov.au/fatigue

 

Pschyrembel Online: https://www.pschyrembel.de/fatigue/K0R64/doc/

 

Charité Fatigue-Centrum: https://cfc.charite.de/fuer_aerzte/veroeffentlichungen/

 

Christian Schubert: Was uns krank macht, was uns heilt. Korrektur Verlag 2021

Dr. Martina Melzer, veröffentlicht: 22.01.2022, aktualisiert: 20.01.2023

 

Was ist Fatigue?

Fatigue zu definieren ist gar nicht so einfach. Fatigue stammt vom lateinischen Wort Fatigatio, was so viel wie Ermüdung heißt. Ein Mensch, der Fatigue empfindet, spricht meist von einer ausgeprägten Erschöpfung, einem Schwächezustand, der sich durch Ruhe und Schlaf nicht bessert. Die Erschöpfung wirkt sich nicht nur körperlich, sondern auch geistig und emotional aus. Sie schränkt einem deutlich im Alltag ein. Sie kann einem daran hindern, eine Aktivität zu beginnen und man fühlt sich sehr schnell durch eine Aktivität erschöpft.

Fatigue ist ein Symptom, das viele Ursachen haben kann. Häufig sprechen Ärztinnen und Ärzte auch vom Fatigue-Syndrom, weil sich dieser Zustand durch viele Einzelsymptome beschreiben lässt. Zum Beispiel: Extreme Müdigkeit, Probleme, sich zu konzentrieren und Sachen zu merken, langsamere Reaktionsfähigkeit, körperliche Schwäche, gedrückte Stimmung, Schläfrigkeit.

Fatigue kann akut auftreten und chronisch verlaufen.

 

Müdigkeit oder Erschöpfung?

Spricht ein Mensch davon, dass er erschöpft ist, bekommt er häufig zur Antwort „Oh ja, ich bin auch ständig müde“. Aus meiner Sicht gibt es einen fundamentalen Unterschied zwischen Müdigkeit und Erschöpfung. Man ist nach einer schlechten Nacht müde, nach einem langen Arbeitstag oder nach dem Sport. Das ist normal. Dann ruht man sich aus und fühlt sich wieder fit, hat Kraft, kann klar denken, seinen Alltagstätigkeiten nachgehen. Nicht so bei einem Mensch, der an Erschöpfung leidet. Er fühlt sich permanent wie „Akku leer“, jede kleine Alltagstätigkeit stellt einen extremen Kraftakt dar, man fühlt sich total ausgelaugt, wie ein Zombie. Und der Akku lässt sich einfach nicht voll aufladen, egal wie viel Ruhe und Schlaf man sich gönnt.

 

Was kann chronische Erschöpfung auslösen?

Zahlreiche Krankheiten können diesen andauernden Erschöpfungszustand hervorrufen. Unter anderem:

  • ME/CFS
  • Krebserkrankungen
  • Blutarmut (Anämie)
  • Schilddrüsenerkrankungen
  • Leberkrankheiten
  • Infektionen
  • Rheuma
  • Fibromyalgie
  • Multiple Sklerose
  • Depression
  • Angst
  • Schlafapnoe
  • Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen
  • Chronisch-entzündliche Darmerkrankungen
  • Reizdarm
  • POTS (Posturales Tachykardiesyndrom)
  • Parkinson
  • Schlaganfall
  • Burn-out, Nebennierenschwäche
  • Zöliakie
  • Anhaltende Schlafstörungen
  •  (komplexe) Posttraumatische Belastungsstörung (PTBS)
  • Hochsensibilität
  • Long Covid

Auch Medikamente können zu Fatigue führen.

 

Fatigue: Ein Schutzmechanismus?

Was im Körper genau bei Erschöpfung passiert, haben Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler noch nicht herausgefunden. Vieles weist aber daraufhin, dass das Immunsystem eine Rolle spielt. Jeder kennt die Erschöpfung, wenn man eine Erkältung oder Grippe hat. Die Infektion aktiviert das Immunsystem, das löst eine Entzündung aus, um den Erreger zu bekämpfen. Entzündungsbotenstoffe im Gehirn machen uns müde, „matschig“, erschöpfen uns, wir sind schlecht drauf, wollen uns hinlegen und unsere Ruhe haben. Dieses vom Körper sinnvolle Verhalten nennt man im Englischen „sickness behavior“. Es spielt vermutlich immer dann eine Rolle, wenn im Körper eine Entzündung vorliegt.

Zweitens hat das autonome Nervensystem einen Einfluss auf Fatigue, besonders wenn es aus der Balance geraten ist. Auch hier kann das Nervensystem einen Schutzmechanismus herauffahren, wenn es über zu lange Zeit übermäßig angeregt wurde. Es zwingt den Körper dann in einen sogenannten „shutdown“.

 

was ist ME/CFS?

Das Kürzel ME/CFS steht für: Myalgische Enzephalomyelitis und Chronisches Fatigue Syndrom. Manche sprechen auch vom chronischen Erschöpfungssyndrom oder Müdigkeitssyndrom. Amerikanische Wissenschaftler haben vorgeschlagen, die Krankheit systemische Belastungsintoleranz-Krankheit (SEID) zu nennen.

 

Da viele Patientenorganisationen den Begriff ME/CFS bevorzugen, wähle auch ich ihn. ME/CFS wurde schon 1969 von der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) als neurologische Erkrankung eingestuft, also als Erkrankung des Nervensystems. Es ist keine psychische Krankheit.

 

mögliche Auslöser

In vielen Fällen hat eine Infektion die Krankheit ausgelöst, zum Beispiel eine mit dem Epstein-Barr-Virus, Grippe-, Entero- oder Coronaviren. Aber auch Bakterien und andere Erreger kommen infrage.

 

Manchmal beginnt ME/CFS auch nach einem Unfall, einer Operation, weil jemand Umweltgiften ausgesetzt ist oder eher schleichend ohne ein bestimmtes Ereignis.

 

Stress spielt als Trigger eine wichtige Rolle.

 

Was könnte die Ursache sein?

Was genau ME/CFS verursacht, ist nicht bekannt. Forscher finden aber immer mehr Auffälligkeiten, die beim Krankheitsmechanismus eine Rolle spielen könnten. Dazu gehören Veränderungen im Immunsystem, Hormonsystem, Herz-Kreislaufsystem, autonomen Nervensystem, im Darm und im Energiestoffwechsel. Eine genetische Veranlagung erhöht das Risiko, ME/CFS zu bekommen.

 

Typische Symptome

Diese drei Symptome müssen vorliegen:

  • Ausgeprägte Erschöpfung (Fatigue) und deutliche Schwierigkeiten, soziale, berufliche und private Aktivitäten auszuführen, dieser Zustand besteht seit mindestens sechs Monaten
  • Zustandsverschlechterung nach körperlicher, geistiger oder emotionaler Aktivität ( = Post-exertional malaise, PEM)
  • Nicht erholsamer Schlaf

Zusätzlich müssen entweder kognitive Probleme bestehen, also zum Beispiel Wortfindungsstörungen, Vergesslichkeit, „Benebeltsein“ ( = Brainfog). Oder es liegt eine orthostatische Intoleranz vor, also bestimmte Beschwerden, wenn man sich von einer liegenden in eine sitzende Position begibt, oder in eine stehende.

 

Der schwierige Weg zur Diagnose

Viele Betroffene, inklusive ich selbst, haben eine langjährige Ärzte-Odyssee hinter sich, bis sie die Diagnose ME/CFS bekommen. Das liegt zum Einen daran, dass sich viele Ärztinnen und Ärzte nicht damit auskennen. Die mediale Aufmerksamkeit durch Long Covid wird das hoffentlich ändern. Zum Anderen sind die Beschwerden (bis auf die Post Exertional Malaise) eher unspezifisch und können von vielen Krankheiten hervorgerufen werden. Das bedeutet oft, dass viele andere mögliche Ursachen ausgeschlossen werden müssen. Bleibt quasi nichts anderes übrig, passen die Symptome und die Geschichte des Patienten, dann kann ein erfahrener Arzt oder eine Expertin die Diagnose stellen.

 

Und dann?

Dann hat man endlich eine Diagnose und fängt allerspätestens da das Googeln an. Schnell lernt man, wenn es nicht die Ärztin oder der Arzt bereits erklärt hat, was Pacing ist und weshalb das so wichtig bei ME/CFS ist. Pacing heißt so viel wie: Kenne dein tägliches Energiefenster und bleibe möglichst darin. Das kann furchtbar einschränkend sein und für eher mild Betroffene bedeuten, die meiste Zeit des Tages zu sitzen, vielleicht nicht mehr arbeiten zu können, sich zu überlegen, ob man heute duscht oder die Waschmaschine befüllt. Schwerer betroffene Menschen sind nicht selten bettlägerig und auf Hilfe angewiesen.

Neben Pacing versuchen Viele, sich mit zahlreichen Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln zu helfen, die den Energiestoffwechsel verbessern sollen. Manche müssen Schmerzmittel oder Schlaftabletten nehmen, andere niedrig dosierte Antidepressiva (gegen Schmerzen).

Derzeit gibt es keine wissenschaftlich fundierte Therapie gegen ME/CFS.

 

wieder gesund werden ist möglich!

Es herrscht eine höchst widersprüchliche Debatte darüber, ob es möglich ist, sich von ME/CFS wieder vollständig zu erholen. Es gibt nur wenige Studien und Übersichtsarbeiten, die sich mit dem Thema beschäftigt haben. Eine Übersichtsarbeit zeigt: Innerhalb von drei Jahren haben sich 4,5 bis 83 Prozent der an ME/CFS erkrankten Kinder und Jugendlichen wieder erholt. Eine andere Analyse ergab: Im Mittel sind fünf Prozent der Erkrankten wieder ganz gesund geworden und 39,5 Prozent haben ihren Zustand verbessert. Eine Langzeitstudie an Kindern und Jugendlichen zeigte, dass innerhalb von 10 Jahren 68 Prozent wieder genesen waren.

Dass die Ergebnisse so stark voneinander abweichen liegt unter anderem daran, dass die Studien nicht einheitlich gemacht wurden und es unterschiedliche Kriterien gab, wann jemand als genesen galt. Außerdem gibt es keine Marker, mit denen man sagen könnte: Wert wieder normal, Mensch gesund. Es ist vielmehr eine ganz persönliche Definition und Einschätzung.

Dennoch findet man im Internet immer mehr Menschen, die es geschafft haben, wieder gesund zu werden und ihre Geschichte teilen.

 

Wichtig: Die Inhalte auf dieser Seite dienen nur zu Informationszwecken und ersetzen nicht das Gespräch mit Ärztin, Arzt oder anderen Therapeuten. Die Inhalte spiegeln meine persönlichen Erfahrungen, Recherchen und Erkenntnisse wider, die mir geholfen haben und die ich deshalb teilen möchte. In Ihrem persönlichen Fall können jedoch ganz andere Sachen eine Rolle spielen und andere Dinge helfen. Bitte sprechen Sie mit Ihrer Ärztin, Ihrem Arzt oder Therapeuten, bevor Sie Entscheidungen treffen, die Ihre körperliche oder mentale Gesundheit betreffen. Auch wichtig: Ich möchte hier niemand von etwas überzeugen. Vielmehr möchte ich mögliche Wege aufzeigen, die hoffentlich einigen Menschen helfen können, ihrvME/CFS oder andere Syndrome zu verbessern oder zu überwinden.

 

Quellen

Institute of Medicine (IOM): Beyond ME/CFS – A guide for clinicians, 2015

MRI Chronisches Fatigue Centrum München: https://www.muenchen-klinik.de/krankenhaus/schwabing/kinderkliniken/kinderheilkunde-jugendmedizin/spezialgebiete-kinder-klinik/chronische-fatigue/

US ME/CFS Clinician Coalition: Leitfaden für die Diagnose und Behandlung von ME/CFS, 2019

 

Moore Y et al: Recovering from Chronic Fatigue Syndrome: A systematic review. Arch Dis Child 2021

Cairns R, Hotopf M: A systemativ review describing the prognosis of CFS. Ocuup Med 2005

Rowe KS: Long term follow up of young people with CFS attending a pediatric outpatient service. Front Pediatr 2019

 

Deutsche Fatigue Gesellschaft: Was ist Fatigue? Online: https://deutsche-fatigue-gesellschaft.de/fatigue/was-ist-fatigue/

Health direct: Fatigue. Online: https://www.healthdirect.gov.au/fatigue

Pschyrembel Online: https://www.pschyrembel.de/fatigue/K0R64/doc/

Charité Fatigue-Centrum: https://cfc.charite.de/fuer_aerzte/veroeffentlichungen/


Christian Schubert: Was uns krank macht, was uns heilt. Korrektur Verlag 2021